top of page

Sleep on it!

I often find myself painting later at night when the house is quiet. It's great for concentration. Particularly on nights when my husband works graveyard shift and when my son is in bed. I don't feel like I am taking away from anyone. I throw on a "show" and work away. The problem with night time painting, is that I get tired and I hate going to bed when a piece is unfinished. I don't sleep well since as soon as I shut my eyes, my mind takes over and I dream all night of what the finished canvas will look like BUT......this all ties back to not forcing creativity...in a way.

If I'm tired I tend to see things differently.....

When I went to bed last night I felt like I was leaving a canvas sort of unfinished but I told myself to "sleep on it!"

...it might look different to me in the morning and ......I'm so happy I did!

I was going for a rusted metal look, and I think I achieved that! I wish I would have added some greenish colors but who knows......I might have lost the esthetic in over adding.

I love the finished look....what do you think?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page