top of page

Don't force creativity!!!


I got new canvases a few days ago and I was itching to cover them in paint! Particularly the ones my sister in law bought. I'll be the first to admit that I put an enormous amount of pressure on myself to strive for perfection in everything I do. Painting is no different.

I had a very busy schedule planned yesterday but wanted to "try" to fit in some painting time in a very limited window. Talk about self sabotage, which is exactly what I did without knowing it!

My loving and very wise husband told me recently after a hectic painting week (that left me drained), "You can't force creativity". Seems like common knowledge but because we all live hectic, busy lives with work, kids, responsibilities and such, we make bad choices with good intentions.

Yesterday I mad bad choices with good intentions. I tried to force creativity........

I wasted a lot of time I didn't really have (and what's worse...PAINT!!) only to wake up this morning with a clearer mind and fixed my mistakes.

My canvas is now almost finished (except the edges...no I didn't forget about those)

I really should have taken a few pictures yesterday to post in my office to remind me what "NOT" to do. My gosh it was horrible!!!

So, I can't stress enough! Don't force creativity! It's a waste of time and energy you could be giving to your neglected family and friends :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page